Everything You Need to Know About the Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship

Mahatma Gandhi scholarships are one of the most popular ways to attain financial support for college education in India. Established by the Government of India for the betterment of the higher education sector of the country, these scholarships aim to provide funds to deserving students based on their performance and needs. The scholarships established at the behest of the late Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh, have been made available by the Central Government and various state governments as well. The amount and duration of scholarship vary from one state to another and this article seeks to explore regarding the Mahatma Gandhi scholarship.

Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship

The Mahatma Gandhi scholarship is a crucial financial fund made available for the pursuit of educational dreams by Indian citizens, especially those from economically weaker sections of society. It is the perfect way for talented individuals to take their studies and careers to new heights with the assistance of a scholarship.

The Mahatma Gandhi scholarship offers a wide range of benefits for select students in India. First, it provides financial support to the recipient in the form of both tuition fees and living assistance. This means that, if selected, the recipient will not have to bear the entire cost of their studies themselves.

Secondly, the Mahatma Gandhi scholarship aims at providing comprehensive education assistance to its recipients. This includes not just fees and living expenses, but also book and laboratory expenses, medical facilities, and boarding and lodging fees.

Lastly, the Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship is administered through government organizations and universities. This ensures that the selection process is transparent and fair and thereby reducing the chances of favoritism. The selection of the best candidates is made through a holistic approach to evaluate the applicant’s past academic performance, achievements, and financial background.

Let’s know some details about Mahatma Gandhi scholarships.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for this scholarship the applicant must have passed the 10+2 exam or any equivalent examination in Science, Commerce, or Arts stream. The individual should also have a minimum of 60% marks in the qualifying examination.

Types of Awards

This scholarship offers two types of awards namely the full-time award and the part-time award. Each type of award has its specific criteria as disclosed by the authorities.

Number of Scholarships

The number of scholarships offered by the Government of India and various other state governments may vary from year to year. Depending on the funds available, the government may offer lesser or more scholarships.


The scholarship offers a monthly stipend and an opportunity to pursue full-time or part-time courses in the streams of Science, Commerce, or Arts. Other benefits may vary depending on the institute and duration of the program.

Selection Criteria

Applicants are assessed on the basis of the marks scored in the final year of the qualifying examination, performance in the aptitude test, and an interview. The final selection is based on a combination of these parameters.

Other Important Metrics of Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship

  • Beneficiaries– The scholarship is open to all Indian nationals across the country, irrespective of caste, religion, or economic status.
  • Age Limit– Applicants must be between 18 to 30 years of age in order to be eligible for the scholarship. The age limit can be extended in certain cases.
  • Validity of Scholarship– The scholarship is valid for a period of one to three years depending on the applicant’s course of study. It can be extended in certain cases.
  • Carry Forward– In case the applicant fails to complete the course within the prescribed period, he/she can apply to carry forward the scholarship to the next academic session/year.
  • Renewal– The scholarship can be renewed on the fulfillment of the eligibility criteria.
  • Post-Matric Scholarship– The scholarship is also offered to students who are pursuing post-matriculation courses such as undergraduate, postgraduate, diploma, and doctorate.
  • Pre-Matric Scholarship– The scholarship is also available for pre-matriculation students who have completed class 10th
  • Special Scholarships for Disabled Persons– The government has laid down certain guidelines for providing special scholarships for physically disabled persons.
    • Financial Assistance– The applicants are provided with financial assistance from the Central Government and various state governments to pursue or continue their education.
    • Document Requirements– The applicants are required to submit the specified documents in order to be eligible for the scholarship.
    • Fee Reimbursement–The applicants can avail of fee reimbursement for certain courses depending on the institute and the duration of the course.
    • Refund of Fee– In certain cases, the applicants may also be eligible for a refund of the fee if they are unable to complete the course within the prescribed time limit.
    • Payment Procedure– The payment of the scholarship will be made directly to the bank accounts of the individual.
    • Grievance Redressal– Grievances regarding the scholarship can be addressed by the Central and state government authorities.
    • Eligibility Renewal Every Year– Renewal of the scholarship is based on the performance of the student and eligibility criteria.

    The Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship is a very noble onet like Tata Scholarship jus, aimed at encouraging Indian students to advance their academic potential in the fields of science and technology. By offering tuition waivers and additional resources, this scholarship is a valuable way for students to gain access to a world-class education that may otherwise be out of reach. We hope these 20 facts about the Mahatma Gandhi Scholarship bring to light just how much of an impact this program has had on our society. As we value and remember the legacy of Mahatma Gandhi, his timeless principles continue to serve as the beacon of progress and inspiration for generations to come.