AMU Drama Club

AMU Drama Club: A Legacy of Theatrical Excellence

Let’s have look at the history of AMU Drama club, the founder of this institution, Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, initiated a Drama Troupe at MAO College in 1886, the University Drama Club (UDC) found its permanent establishment in the year 1966 within the hallowed walls of Kennedy House. Prior to this, interested students and different cultural societies from the halls of residence had sporadically staged various productions in Strachey Hall and Maris Hall. However, with the completion of Kennedy Auditorium and the creation of the General Education Centre, a new era of theatre began under the patronage of stalwarts like Prof Muneebur Rehman, Prof Sajda Zaidi, Prof Zahida Zaidi, Prof Zauqi, Prof Gurudas Bhattacharya, Prof Habib Rasool, Mr. Iftekhar Alam Khan, Prof M. A. Alvi, and more.

Iconic productions by the AMU Drama Club

AMU Drama club has nurtured and produced some of the most celebrated artists in the fields of stage, film, and television. Renowned names like Habeeb Tanvir, Qadir Ali Baig, Irfan Panjatan, Surekha Seekri, Naseeruddin Shah, Dilip Tahil, and many more have graced its stages.

Some of the most iconic productions by the Amu Drama Club include Julius Caesar, Uncle Mania, Agra Bazaar, Kitab ka Kafan, Ek tha Ghulam, Darwaze Khol do, Shatranj ke Mohre, Khamosh Adalat Jari Hai, Naya Tamasha, Sakharam Binder, Rang Nagri, Panchhi Aise Aate Hain, The Bear, Inspector Matadeen Chaand Per, Bhanwar, Khander, Raah, Zero Hour, Batwara, Chaddi Pahen ke Phool Khila Hai, Janta Express, Ek Anarchist ki Ittefaqia Maut, Naqqaara, Junglee, Jo Such Nahi, Marz Badhta Gaya, Bhola Ram Ka Jeev, Pahle aap, Pyaasi Zameen, Marte Dam Tak, Chacha Chakkan, Toba Tek Singh, Khoobsurat Bala, Pagla Ghoda, Aseer-e-Hirs, Karbal Katha, Begum ki Billi, Aiyen ek Akhat, Amanat, Big B, Letter to Gandhi, Taj Mahel ka Udghatan, Aao Kahani Kahein, Laal Basta, and countless skits, mimicries, mono acting, and mimes.

Current Leadership

President: Prof. Vibha Sharma (Associate Professor, Department of English)

Vibha Sharma, an accomplished Professor in the Department of English at Aligarh Muslim University, specializes in Literary Theory, Modern Drama, Postcolonial Studies, Theatre Studies, Translation Studies, and Cultural Studies. She is a Visiting Faculty at Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden, and has made significant contributions to the Asian Theatre Encyclopedia published from the UK.

AMU Drama Club's 'Theatre Origins'

Recently, the Drama Club of the Cultural Education Centre (CEC), Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), organized a three-day cultural event titled ‘Theatre Origins.’ During this event, student groups staged highly-acclaimed canonical plays and a skit.

Day 1: The event kicked off with a performance of Mohan Rakesh’s ‘Aadhe Adhure,’ presented by Khurram Zuberi Theatre Studio. The play depicted the struggles of a middle-class family facing financial setbacks, featuring Nidhi Singh, Rishi Kumar, Zehra Naqvi, Faisal Nezami, and Himani Tainguria in prominent roles.

Day 2: Drama Club members performed Anton Chekhov’s ‘The Bear’ and Saadat Hasan Manto’s ‘Burqe.’ ‘The Bear,’ a one-act comedy, portrayed the story of a middle-aged landowner and a young widow in a comical situation. ‘Burqe’ was performed as a monologue, narrating the story of a young man’s love for a burqa-clad woman.

The event concluded with a skit titled ‘Babaji ki Booty,’ a production filled with laughter and entertainment.

AMU Drama Club continues to be a thriving hub of creative expression, contributing to the rich cultural tapestry of Aligarh Muslim University.

Achievement of AMU Drama club

  • Performed play “Pagla Ghoda” in a sensible structure without precedent for the historical backdrop of UDC at CEC grass in walk 2016.
  • Performed two different Pento – Emulate in 44th North Zone VC Meet.
  • Won third award in production ‘A majority rules government’ at 31st North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU held at Ludhiana Horticulture College, Ludhiana.
  • Played out a road play at “Rang Mohatsav-2016” a Global Theater Fest coordinated by Public School of Show, New Delhi.
  • Won third Best Creation for the play ‘Lal Basta’ in “Josh Vihangam” 2016, an all India Theater Fest coordinated by Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.
  • Won Best Chief in “Josh Vihangam” 2016, an all India theater Fest coordinated by Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.
  • Won Best Content in “Josh Vihangam” 2016 an all India theater Fest coordinated by Jamia Millia Islamia. New Delhi.
  • Dramatization club Play out his originally tagged show in Sri Smash Focal point of play Karbal Katha in 2016.
  • Got greeting to play out a full length play ‘Karbal Katha at Ghalib Establishment, New Delhi in 2015.
  • Won third Award in drama ‘Exhibition hall 2050’ in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2010 held at Jhansi.
  • Won Incidental award in play ‘Aishwarya Rai..Aai Hai!’ in Public Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2005 held at Nagpur.
  • Won third Award in play ‘Ek Koshish’ in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2005, Rohtak.
  • Got greeting to perform two plays; Bhanwar at Territory Center, New Delhi in 2004.
  • Performing at Rajkiya Krishi Udyog Pradarshini consistently beginning around 2004.
  • Won third Award in drama in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2003 held at Bundelkhand College, Jhansi.
  • Got unique greeting from Colleges Awards Commission to perform ‘Aishwarya Rai..Aai Hai!’ in its Brilliant Celebration Festivity in 2003.
  • Won 2rd Award in emulate in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2001.
  • Won first Award in emulate in Public Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2001 held Banaras.
  • Won 2rd Award in production in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2000 held at Rohtak.
  • Won third Award in mimicry in North Zone Youth Fest coordinated by AIU in 2000 held at Rohtak.